It was just a few weeks ago that I watched a very talented juggler on stage.  He did the traditional juggling with bowling pins.  But, he did some variations that made all of us in the audience smile.

He bounced rubber balls on the floor to vary the act.  Instead of objects flying up into the air, he bounced different sizes and colors of balls on the floor.  Seamlessly, he went from variation to variation. 

He made it look so easy.  This juggler was smiling throughout his act and laughing with the audience.  We of course responded with our applause and the purchase price of a ticket to get inside.

I may not be able to handle three bowling pins in the air without causing major injury to any who dare to watch but I have my own juggling routine.  What I juggle is not in groups of three.  That wouldn’t be juggling, that would be too easy.

Thursday is juggling day.  I was up early and writing feverishly on this computer.  Then, it was paying bills and tracking down details so that my check book could be balanced for at least a few hours.  I havent’ even left the house yet!

This morning I have a meeting with my faculty and staff.  I will give them a report on the direction of the seminary, update them on events that are coming up, and cheer on one of the greatest collections of Christians workers that I have ever had the privilege to call my team.

Once my radio interview is done, I teach my evening class.  Here I engage very bright and intellegent graduate students with the fine art craft of preaching narrative parts of the Bible.  If that 90 minute session wasn’t exhausting enough, I follow that with a sermon that I deliver in our monthly President’s Chapel.

I can’t stop juggling yet.  There are still a few more items to toss into the air for my juggling routine.  Tonight we have prospective students for the next semester convening on our campus.  I will pop in and greet them, answer questions, and sincerely invite them to join our studentbody and prepare at MTS for whatever they believe God has called them to do.

Maybe I could be a juggler on stage for a living.  I would juggle cell phones, PDA’s, microphones, computers,  and always be sporting a smile.  Would you buy a ticket to my show?

