Frankly, 2011 was a great year.  I loved everything that happened.  If a year could be planned with blessing, joy and delight then last year was fabulous.

I even got a headache trying to think of any regrets from the year that has now passed.  But, there weren’t any moments that made me cringe.  In many ways it was a year free from flaws and pain.

Maybe it’s my memory that is starting to fade.  But, again maybe it is learning to live for now and hoping for the future that gives me such a good year to enjoy.  What has happened in the past is just that, it is past.

Moaning about mistakes, lost opportunity or bad decisions doesn’t change much.  Nor does the hesitation to try anything because of past hurt ever accomplish much.  God’s grace and mercy are more than enough to give us a fresh start no matter how people treat us, make their demands or impose their judgment on us.

Instead, when we embrace God and receive His embrace of us, life goes along very well.  Even if it should turn sour, we can look to Him to grow us through the trial.  He will never give us more than we are able to withstand.

Now, that we are facing a new year, it can be seen as a blessing!  Another fresh start to experience more in His goodness.  It’s time to regroup and refresh our determination.

Two key features make sense to me.  As I plan out the new year, there are principles that reverberate in my mind.  These principles are vertical in nature, horizontal in intensity.

First, this year is one where I will devote myself to prayer.  The Word “devote” is intentional.  This term means to be focused, determined, relentless and passionate.

Prayer is my commitment to keeping the Almighty in the routine of my life.  Instead of going from project to project and person to person, I want God to be a part of every detail of my life.  Tight communication in His care and grace is my desire.

Second, I want this year to be about opportunity.  I believe that the providence of God will open up doors that He desires me to be passageways for His best.  His sovereignty is the basis of my life.

Hungry for opportunity is my desire.  This passion will be my daily appetite.  I will not wait for someone else to act or wait for waiting sake.  I’m ready to make this new year count.

photo credit: google image

