On my day off I decided to commit myself to accomplishing something productive.  After all, I knew that if I wanted to play in the evening I would feel so much better if I had done something useful during the day.  I took a deep breath and entered into my office.

With Christmas music on to while away the project, I slid open my closet doors. They slid easily on their tracks and unveiled what I love to ignore for weeks on end.  Piles of boxes of TBCL: to be considered later.

Two boxes with a volume of 1.5 cubit feet were heavy.  They were solid inside with content.  There was nothing soft about the treasures that were hidden away.

I opened each to find what I knew I had to sort, toss or use.  These have a track record of my life’s history.   It was boxes of a my music.

Scores and scores of CD’s.  Music from favored artists: Steve Green, Garth Brooks, Crystal Gayle, Point of Grace, 4 Him, The Brooklyn Tabernacle Choir, James Taylor, Michael J. Smith, Manheim Steamroller, Shania Twain, Van Morrison, David Meece, Steven Curtis Chapman, Promise Keepers, Avery Stafford, Johnny Cash, Scott Wesley Brown,  Canadian Brass, Chuck Mangione, Wayne Watson, DC Talk and many more.  Can you see my varied taste?

I had to figure out a way to put these all in digital form.  My i-touch could hold them.  But, I have to figure out how to load them. 

Once these are digitally stored I can donate the CD’s to the Salvation Army.  That’ll clear my room of several boxes.  Moving around my office will be much more effiecient too.

At first I thought that I would count all of my CD’s and add up how much money I have spent on them over the years.  But, when I got up to the price of new motorcycle I decided that this was a very bad idea.  Furthermore, great music is never about the money.

Years of tranquility and meditation are represented in these discs.  Fun times of joy and celebration are a deeply embedded in them as well.  How many times have we slipped away into a world of friendliness and cheer just by putting on our earphones and cranked up the volume?

At the same time it’s not the plastic discs that are the memories.  It is the music.  If I can store the same music in a miniature i-touch and free up living space, how sweet is that?

photo credit: google image

