I sat down in a homemade recliner.  My head easily laid back and I gazed up into the sky.  It was a great view.

Soft clouds were floating by.  Some shaped like cotton balls. But one looked like some kind of ancient trilobite.

Higher up in the sky were cirro-stratus clouds.  They are 20,000 feet high and mostly made up of ice crystals.  Below those were a mixture of alto-cumulus and strato-cumulus clouds.

I was amazed at how relaxing this moment was.  Nothing man-made was in view.  Instead, I was drinking in the panorama of the Creator’s masterpiece.

It was without parallel regarding beauty, splendor and vastness.  I was gazing at endless miles of space.  But, the canopy slowed to just the atmosphere of earth. 

Occasionally, a bird would fly by.  That was a smile-generating moment too.  Birds remind me of the part of life that should be care-free.

Afterall, if God knows of every sparrow then He cares for me. If one sparrow cannot fall without Him being in full knowledge and sovereign over it then He not only cares for me but He can do anything to bless my life.

For now I was relaxing.  It felt so good to let my concerns, responsibilities and stresses of life float away.  There is something very therapeutic about the clouds.  Humorously, a classic Peanuts cartoon came to mind:

Lucy Van Pelt: Aren’t the clouds beautiful? They look like big balls of cotton. I could just lie here all day and watch them drift by. If you use your imagination, you can see lots of things in the cloud’s formations. What do you think you see, Linus?
Linus Van Pelt: Well, those clouds up there look to me look like the map of the British Honduras on the Caribbean.
[points up]
Linus Van Pelt: That cloud up there looks a little like the profile of Thomas Eakins, the famous painter and sculptor. And that group of clouds over there…
[points]
Linus Van Pelt: …gives me the impression of the Stoning of Stephen. I can see the Apostle Paul standing there to one side.
Lucy Van Pelt: Uh huh. That’s very good. What do you see in the clouds, Charlie Brown?
Charlie Brown: Well… I was going to say I saw a duckie and a horsie, but I changed my mind.

Life has to be tailor-made for each of us. For some it is simple.  For others it is more complicated.  For all of us it may just simply be in the clouds.

photo credit: brucefong photography

