Have you noticed the difference between women’s shoe departments and men’s shoe departments?  Does size give you a hint?  Does busyness give you a further hint?

I was observing recently all of the glitz and glamour associated with women’s shoes.  Of course I zeroed in on a few pair of shoes that were close enough for me to pick up, study and wonder.  It left me puzzled.

Of course it must be a guy thing to shake our head in wonder.  How could so little material represented in a woman’s Spring fashion possibly cost so much?  Are shoes that claim some exotic origin really command such prices?

If a shoe is made in Italy, then are they better?  Oh, I should qualify, if they are designed in Italy, made in China, packaged in Mexico and marketed in India are they better as an international product compared to simplicity of being manufactured in the good ol’ USA.  This isn’t anything more than simple economics to me.

Yes, on behalf of all the men of the world, what is it that draws women to shoes?  Are they so cute that a girl has to have a new pair?  When pairs of shoes are counted do they pass 50? 60? 70? more?

I need to be careful.  This is soggy ground.  Honestly, though I am not against women having a collection of footwear.  It just has me curious, that’s all, really!

The number of sales people in the Women’s Shoe Department is like an army compared to the Men’s Shoe Department.  They are much friendlier too.  I wonder if the men’s shoe sales guys are sucking lemons.

The most common word that I hear in the Women’s Shoe Department is “cute”.  Two or more women who are shopping together encourage each other with that singular word.  It is repeated often with different inflections for variety sake I’m sure.

“Comfort” isn’t a common term used in this place of varied footwear.  In my out-to-lunch opinion so many of the shoes look completely UNcomfortable.  Toes are squeezed, heels are lifted into the sky and textures are very strange.  But, I’m just a lost novice with too many questions.

There was a day when I sold women’s shoes for a living.  Even then I learned what I needed to sell shoes, which I did sell more than my quota each month.  But, I never learned the answer to my questions; so I was left only to wonder, marvel and theorize some more.

photo credit: brucefong cellphone photography

