For most of my adult life I have involved with theology in one way or another.  A good portion of my professional career I have been immersed in theological higher education.  That kind of pursuit necessitates a specialized interest in reading, lot of reading.

This endeavor of course requires that I have a lot of books close at hand.  Or if necessary at least in the realm of geographical proximity.  That means wherever I am, I seek out collections where scholarly volumes can be a part of my research and study.

Here in Houston there is a collection, a library that is remarkable.  Besides the books that now count up into the tens of thousands, the building that houses this collection is even more startling.  Furthermore, the collection is open to the public at no charge.

It was a very hot day when my colleagues and I made a trek to visit this depository of learning.  The proprietor had a building constructed that is in the Cambridge Oxford style.  Two-feet thick stone walls is the basic construction. 

Inside the woodwork is exquisite, the craftsmanship represents the finest skills in that trade.  Artwork decks the ceiling.  Ornate tapestries tastefully add to the grandeur of the facility.

Museum quality pieces are housed in protected displays.  Some are replicas, like the Dead Sea Scrolls.  Others are authentic; I marvelled at the first edition first copy of the 1611 King James Bible.

The Chapel was gorgeous.  It is a replica of a Byzantine era structure.  There is an atmosphere inside that building that is inspiring.

Not everyone will want to visit a place like this.  You have to be associated with theological research to have that interest.  But, if you do, this Lanier Theological Library is a great destination.

photo credit: brucefong cellphone photography

