The sun had long set.  Night had shrouded our neighborhood.  Still, there was one more errand to give my attention to before the day could be closed.

I had to stop by our mailbox and collect our mail.  We have a community box.  The mail carrier stops at one location for about 24 homes, all clustered for a simple walk or stop-by on the drive into our neighborhood.

Even though the two of us were together, I volunteered to hop out of our rig and let my bride stay inside.  It was the chivalric thing to do.  Busily, I fumbled through my keys looking for the mailbox key.

Staying too focused on one task and not paying attention to your surroundings can get you into a laughable moment.  Just as I found my key and began to open the box, I noticed for the first time a sound that I knew in my memory but couldn’t quite place while looking for the right key in the middle of my key chain.

Multi-tasking drains us of our clear thinking.  But, while the mental process slows down for secondary matters, it eventually catches up.  My brain assessed the familiar sound, the unmistakable rat-a-tat-tat of a lawn sprinkler.

It was too late.  My mailbox key had already been inserted.  I just submitted to the inevitable.  The water sprinkler washed my legs from top to bottom.

After rolling my eyes, I grabbed all of our mail and locked our box.  Assessing my options I checked out the sprinkler that had machine-gunned me with its powerful soaking spray.  Maybe I could jump to my left and avoid another baptism.  Too late!

Right at the time when I decided to see where the sprinkler was in its cycle of spraying, it reversed itself and came back.  Yes, I was right in the path of the deluge of made-man showers.  If there were any dry spots on my lower extremities, now there were none.

I climbed back in the car.  I heard some feminine snickering.  Or more accurately, it was feminine giggling.  Some comment about me being “all wet” was somehow a part of the peanut gallery’s pronouncement.  Oh, well, it’s just water.

photo credit: brucefong cellphone photography

