This was a special event.  I would go fishing for the first time since moving to Texas.  New friends had invited me to join them for a fishing venture that was taking aim the coveted Red Fish, spectacular fighting, leaping Speckled Trout and fantastic elusive Flounder.

My adventure would require some research.  I wanted to know how to fish for these desirable Texas game fish.  Reading, talking and lots of listening were moments that were a part of my preparation.

Taking inventory of my fishing tackle was on my schedule.  The fun begins as I sort out my fishing gear.  Technique pre-determines the kind of equipment that I bring.

Moving has jumbled up my fishing equipment.  It take s few moments to consolidate everything related to fishing.  But, discovery, organization and selection is part of the experience of life behind the line.

Our guide sent us all a list of what to bring.  He also included reminders of how to dress.   We would be fishing from piers and jetties.

Sturdy shoes were important.  Rod and reel loaded with 12-15# line was about right.  Plenty of hooks, sinkers and leader were also suggested.

Gladly I stopped in a local sporting goods store and purchased my sportsman’s license.  Of course I picked up a couple of new pieces of equipment.  Then, it was just a matter of getting to the rendezvous site on time.

Like a typical fisherman, we chose to start our fishing day at 5AM.  That meant I had to leave home by 4:15AM.  Our meeting point was a long ways away.

We  arrived at our destination under cloudly skies and a steady drizzle.  Each of us tied up our set ups and loaded a live shrimp on a razor sharp hook.  Four lines went into the water.

Moments passed and the excitement grew.  Everyone caught something.  Only one was sizable.  My fish was NOT Texas-sized. 

The strike was not hard.  Nevertheless, I set the hook.  A minimal struggle took place, but it had all of the vibration of a fish . . .  a small fish.

When I landed this FIRST catch since moving to Texas, I chuckled.  The bait was bigger than this watery inhabitant.  I guess  that NOT everything in Texas is BIG.

photo credit: brucefong cellphone photography

