There is a company that I have hired to do a major make-over in our master bathroom.  It is a project that I knew had to be done when we bought our house.  I was not looking forward to it, knowing that it would be a hassel, like most construction projects are.

Nevertheless, we too often put off until we sell the house, any upgrades and never get to enjoy them ourselves.  That thought alone pushed me over the edge to hire out this construction endeavor.  I am looking forward to enjoying this new improvement. 

But, delays followed in constant order.  It happens whenever I have been involved in building anything.  Stuff happens, unexpected stuff.

Patience is the watch word but this project has been more than that.  This has been a lesson in watching management fumble several hand-offs.  Once one deadline is missed there is a domino effect. 

This company does very good work.  The product is done to my satisfaction.  I have no complaints about the work of the crew.

They take good measures regarding cleanliness, courtesy and respect for our property.  The care that they take to do a quality job has met all of my expectations.  As I watch the job take shape I am satisfied.

But, a good product is only one part of good management.  There are three “p’s” for good managers to keep in mind.  They are product, process and promptness.

The process is the achievement of the job is a high value item for the manager to oversee.  This includes the workers who do the job.  Best practices to get the work done all fall into this category.

Our project has scored well in this category.  The workers who have come to our home are diligent.  They have skills in their craft that are satisfying to me.

When they finish up their work, I like what I see.  It looks professional and the visual picture is very good.  The crew are friendly and adapt to those inevitable challenges in any retrofitting project. 

The major problem with the company has been the matter of promptness.  There has been little.  It’s a good thing that I am a patient man.

I understand set backs.  When subcontractors pull the wrong materials and they have to be returned and correctly reissued, I understand that.  But, those matters should be managed so that they don’t happen or at least happen within the scope of a timeframe that makes those allowances.

Bad management of timeliness devalues the product because it inconveniences our customers.  We who watch over the deliver of our excellent product should do so with promptness.  Add to that excellent process and managers who succeed are valuable indeed.

