I was set up with my computer while the TV was on.  Whatever show was airing at the time I don’t even remember.  What did capture my attention was the  commercial.

Sure, I’m a Country & Western fan so Brad Paisley is an attention grabber.  He has a down-to-earth demeanor and a dry sense of humor.  Seeing him with the Jack-in-the-box mascot was sure to be a curiosity at the very least.

Jack is explaining to Brad that they want him to endorse their new Country Meal.  With a bit of flattery Jack tells Brad, “What’s more country than Brad Paisley!”   Brad wasn’t impressed.

Instead, he thoughtfully responded, “Oh, I don’t know…maybe …” Then, he offered some early reasonable options.  But, that list kept going to move into goofy options that reflected more Brad’s humble spirit than good advertising options for Jack to consider.

As Brad went down his off-the-cuff options of what is more country than him, Jack’s countenance changed.  When the ad cut-away to the mascot he had a silly surprised disbelief look on his mask.  It was hilarious.

To be fair, I had been a very consistent customer of Jack-in-the-box for many years.  In fact it is what got me fed during my Seminary years in Texas.  It was my highlight during a week of scrimping and scraping for meals on a very tight budget.

Sunday nights was my treat night.  I would leave the dorm and walk a block and order my “big” meal of the week.  Counting coins was my habit of life.

It was a simple time in my life.  I never told anyone how tight my funds were.  But, I remember the reluctance each time I would have to break a $20 and then judiciously watch over all of the change during the subsequent week. 

Maybe the best in country is not  only Brad Paisley, Country Music but also the struggling lives of Americans who work hard, carefully watch their spending, deny themselves wants to make their precious few dollars spread out and eventually, land a better paying job once their education is done and their tuition obligation is completed.  America is Country.  Whatever is American is the best that we and our fellow countrymen represent to keep on making this country great.

Come on, fellow Americans!  Let’s keep on working, learning and sharing.   Live in liberty and be in pursuit of happiness.  Now, that’s country!

photo credit: brucefong cellphone photography

