IMG_1749It was a good day to pop out of bed.  The weather report was great.  Temperatures were in the mid 50’s, no precipitation and no wind.

Before I started in on a busy work day at my desk, I would hit the road with my two-wheel human-powered machine.  It is a Fuji road bike, designed to ride the roads and be as efficient as possible over a short period of time.   I love my bike!

I picked up the Buffalo Bayou Bike and Hike trail a couple of mile south of my home.  My last trip on this road was exploratory.  Now, I was ready to make it a planned route for a faster 20 mile tour.

Naturally, I am alert to wildlife.  Along the way the signs warning me not to feed the alligators

IMG_1753always make me smile.  There have never been any gators on the route since I have been looking for these reptiles.  The

 signs always make a great prop for a photo-op.

 

 

 

There is a long bridge on this route just before entering into George Bush Park.  It captures all of the geometry lessons that I learned in past years.  I see the triangles embedded in the structure to give it strength.Long lonely strips of pavement stretch for miles.  Whoever designed these trails did so many of us in our neighborhood a great service.  I am enjoying the exploring, the views, the expanse, the solitude of each ride I take.

 

This engineering project spans the waterway that is ready to direct any rain deluge away from our community.  It is a simple structure, nothing compared to the creation around it. Yet, in its unique way it is a marvel.

IMG_1759On and on I pedal.  Someday I should mount a computer on my bicycle.  I try to estimate my distance by time.

Roughly I must be travelling around 12 mph on an average.  That includes the stops for lights, pictures and massages that reinvigorate my circulation.  After returning home after 1 hour and 45 minutes, that calculates to 21 miles.  Hooey! No wonder I feel a little tired.

Life is busy.  Computers occupy so much of my time.  People fill in the gaps of life.  Road time restores so much balance.

I do pray during this moments.  Talking to my Heavenly Father reinvigorate me, cheers me and bolsters my confidence.  Away from busyness and swallowed up in solitude I enjoy the deepening that nourishes my soul.

photo credit: brucefong cellphone photography

 

 

