IMG_1718I have struggled over the Prayer of Serenity:

God
grant me the serenity
to accept the things I can not change,
the courage to change the things I can
and the wisdom to know the difference.
Amen.

It is a simple and beautiful prayer.  Each stanza is meaningful.  Then, the final punch knocks it out of the park.

Of course life is not always about what is serene.  There are times when we just have a difficult time when people mess up the options for us.  Someone rewrote this poetic satire:

God
grant me the serenity
to accept the things I can not change,
the courage to change the things I can
and the wisdom
to Hide the Bodies of the those People I had to knock off because the ticked me off.

Amen.

No, of course I am not being irreverent.  Admittedly, I laughed.  There was truth to this humorous editorial on a common and popular prayer.  Most of us who deal with people can understand this twist on words that describes a common human experience.

People more than circumstances give life its deepest disappointments, don’t they?  When we are alone, setting up our values and stepping into life with determination, it is people, the sour ones, the mean ones, those with a hidden agenda or those who are just plain annoying that disrupt our righteous goals.  It is no wonder someone else adjusted this ancient prayer in another funny twist:

God
grant me the serenity
to accept the things I can not change,
the courage to change the things I can
and forgiveness
when I finally snap.

Amen.

A good laugh at ourselves and the challenges that we all find too common keeps life real.  We each have our limits.  Few have the patience of Job and find it very tempting to strike back when we are pushed by someone else who is being nasty for no reason other than they have a burr under their saddle.

Perhaps the passing of time gives those who are older the insight that the rest of us find gratifying.  They have lived their lives and discovered the same things that we have in our youthful endeavors.  So, we adopt their insights into living:

God
grant me the Senility
to forget the people I never liked anyway,
the good fortune to run into the ones I do,
and the eyesight to tell the difference.
Amen.

photo credit: brucefong cellphone photography

