MOM

Mothers, if it were not for them, none of us would be here.  To be quite frank, we would not be nearly as far along if it were not for them either.  They cajoled  disciplined and terrified us into knowing what was right and what was wrong.

It was no many of us who did not decide that what was right was what Mom wanted us to do.  Furthermore, we also knew perhaps even stronger than the first was that wrong was whatever Mom did NOT want us to do.  Of course it did not make any philosophical sense at the time, but it sure made sense in the seat of our deepest understanding.

By in large Mom was right.  Now that I am older and older still, I find that those values that were instilled in me so long ago are still very much a part of what I am doing now and how I am living now.

Mom taught me in no uncertain terms to never be ashamed of my ethnic heritage but to be proud of it.  When I had a chance to identify with it I should.  She led the way by example.

If she were ever confronted by a threat to her ethnic identity, that threat was rebuffed in no uncertain terms.  I felt sorry for those that drew the ire of Mom because of a snide comment, openly racist slur or a devilish sneer.

On the positive side my identity in my ethnic heritage was paraded among festive holidays, community events and even the presence of art and literature in our home.  She signed me up for a community drum and bugle corps experience that our whole family embraced.

Ethnic food was more than just doing what was familiar.  It was a wonderful and prefered option for all of us.  She was a masterful cook of Chinese cuisine.  Her skills gave to all of us a standard to measure the best in Cantonese food.

Mom of course was our perpetual chauffeur.  She drove us from one event to the next.  She was also my primary typist for papers in High School.  It became her reason to send me to typing school just to get a respite from the pounding keys.

I was a late bloomer.  She never had much to celebrate in my early years.  But, in college and graduate school, she had a reason to smile.  Mom being there made those special events very special.  Thanks MOM!

