IMG_2093We were out visiting College Station, Texas.  It is a two hour drive NW of Katy, where we call home.  It was a business trip.  More technically it was a ministry trip.

The drive is pleasant.  It takes you through the rolling hills of central Texas.  Fields of crops line both sides of the highway.  Small burghs keep locals busy in various services and commerce.

Summer had already settled into this community so traffic was light.  We had no problem finding our locations and carrying out our responsibilities.  Along the way we even made some new friends.  Texas is a friendly state.  I looked at the clock and estimated that it was time to make exit.  If we left then, we could make the leisurely drive back to Katy, rest a bit, run our errands and make it to our evening service at Houston’s First Baptist Church.

It was lunchtime so we picked a fast food restaurant to grab a bite before our journey.  We pulled into one of the parking slots and ordered through the menu boxes that served each parking stall.   During our pleasant conversation, I started to laugh when I noticed an advertisement on the wall right in front of us.

The words in my mind screamed with laughter, “Really?”  That was my reaction.  The words are amazing but in a different context.  For my whole life I have toyed with that tag line.  It has been a part of the ministries that I have been in no matter what part of the country that I have served, these words spoke of eternity, grace, mercy, devotion, hope and faith.

They really do not speak of the world of ice cream.  Not really, right?  Ok, now that I have thought about it a bit in some semblance, I may be persuaded to consider the love of real ice cream as “real love”.  In a fun sort of way this best dessert of all in any part of the world among any culture this confection is the best.  We could even say that we love ice cream. As long as of course it is real ice cream.  This may well explain what real love is all about even on the eternal level.  It is an obsession of what is truly genuine.

photo credit: brucefong cellphone photography

