IMG_3128Plans for this work-related road trip were on the calendar.  Promises to a student for a personal appearance while he preached at the church where he serves were made.  My word is my bond and my joy.

It took some planning.  The church where he serves is a two-hour drive away from my home.  That is when the traffic is not an issue.  In Houston traffic is ALWAYS and issue.

My home is in Katy, Texas.  The church is in Galveston, Texas.  Houston is in between these two locations.

Before I could leave on this road trip, I considered the traffic flow.  The good news is that I would not be able to depart until Saturday evening.  I was already scheduled to teach an all-day class on that Saturday.

It was possible to leave for the church on Sunday morning.  But, my assistant discovered that the church service started at 830am.  Yes, that is AM.  That would require a 630am departure.  At least the traffic would not be a problem on an early Sunday morning drive.

The other dynamic is that we would have been exhausted from a long eight-hour day of teaching, followed by an early morning wake-up call and a longish two-hour drive.  Who wants to go to church when they are already tired and sleepy?  Would I ever lived down an episode of falling asleep in church while representing the seminary? Yipes!

It was time to come up with a new strategy.  Instead of trying to wake up early we would travel down to Galveston after teaching my class.  It would be two-hour drive when I was tired but at least we would make the journey during the waning daylight hours, camp out in a comfortable hotel and then get up at a reasonable hour and go to church.

The plan was ideal.  We were able to enjoy a pleasant meal, get a good night’s rest and then make easily to church on time.  Church was worth it too!  The worship was exhilarating and the preaching by my student made me as his teacher very proud!

Our fellowship after the service was only about commendation and encouragement.  The people in that church are blessed to have a man with solid convictions, outstanding preaching skills and a heart that will love on his people as if Jesus the Savior Himself was there doing the loving.  In fact when pastoring is done right, He is there loving through His servant.

photo credit: brucefong cellphone photography

