IMG_3107Have you ever stumbled across a world-wide website that gave you a grand idea?  Did you, like me, disparage the novel thought with skepticism?  I have dismissed many good ideas that captured my attention in cyberspace.  This time I thought that I would give it a try.

Many of us who have very busy lives know by experience the crush of the morning rush.  We are trying to pull everything together that we need for a productive day.  If we can answer some emails, text messages and social media inquiries that we squeeze them into to packed first-light-of-day.  A quick glance at the keeper of time and we realize that we lost track of time.  It is time to grab what we can and drive to work.

We are clothed, brief case is packed and the vehicle is ready for the commute through heavy traffic.  There is that last moment of thought: breakfast.  If I only had a hardboiled egg to take with me.  That little morsel of food would tie me over until my lunch engagement.

That’s when we triple check the clock and realize that time will not allow for a boiling of an egg.  Mentally we make a note to boil several eggs in the evening, store them in the refrigerator and further hurried mornings would be served well.  Of course like many of you that kind of mental note is lost several times over.

Even when I have remembered and boiled a half a dozen eggs, then I try and figure out how to separate them from the fresh eggs.  Is it one of the worse things in life to grab a seemingly hardboiled egg and crack it only to realize that it is a fresh egg?  Gross!

Now, thanks to the www tip, I now put however many fresh eggs into a pot of tap water  and turn it on to high.  Then, I add the skin of a brown onion to the water and cover the pot.  Once the water heats up into a rolling boil, I set the timer for 5 minutes.

When the timer goes off, I turn off the heat but leave the cover on the pot.  After about 15 minutes I flood the pot with tap water, remove the onion skins and place all of the hard-boiled eggs that all have brown shells into the fresh egg containers ready to leap into my hands on those very rushed workday mornings.  Yay for the WWW!

photo credit: brucefong cellphone photography

