IMG_4418We have had our pellet burning smoker for over a year.  I can finally grill chicken, steaks, pizza and pork tenderloin without burning or magically transforming them into jerky.  But, the adventure continues.

Smoking a brisket is one of the high points of a grill master.  Just kidding.  I would never assume that I deserve that title.  If I deserve any title for my outdoor cooking it is burn master or shoe leather maker.

My smoker success has rekindled the possibility of cooking a brisket.  So, I pulled out the cookbook that came with our smoker.  It had a page on smoking a brisket so I read it once, twice, thrice and then again two more times.

Have you ever bolstered your courage with the repetition of preparation?  That is exactly what I was doing.  I was prepared to take my bride out to dinner if this experiment failed.

The preparation for the meat was not hard.  I used a mixture of both a dry rub and wet BBQ sauce.  Then, I prepared a water spray to keep the meat moist.

I set my grill to smoke.  Once it was ready I laid the meat right on the grill and let it smoke for two hours.  Then, I increased the temperature to 275, put the meat in an aluminum tray with some water in the tray and let the low heat have its way for another three hours.

Every 45 minutes or so I would peek and spray.  It was looking good.  The aroma was fabulous.

At the total of 5 hour mark I donned my BBQ gloves and lifted the final product out of the grill on to a platter.  When I set it on the table I snapped a picture.  Then, I had no idea how it tasted or if it was a dry as jerky.

The brisket looked great and smelled even better.  It was worth a picture.  Then, the moment of truth came.

With the table set for two, I sliced several pieces off the finished product.  It is the cook’s prerogative to taste it in advance, right?  So I popped a piece in my mouth and was stunned!

It was delicious!  The flavor was amazing.  A deep satisfaction of seeing the red halo and watching the juices run over the carving knife blade only vie for attention from the popping of buttons.

photo credit: brucefong photography

 

