Today I did not set my alarm. After all, I’m on vacation. At the very least this is one of those times during the year when I can enjoy “a bit of a lie-in”, as my Scottish friends are fond of saying.

Ahead of me lay a six-plus-hour drive. Most of the trip is not enjoyable. If the drive were appealing then it would be a different story.

This is a one-day drive. At least we are not on the road for days on end. There was a day in my distant youth when I enjoyed driving.

Yeah, I admit it. When I was young long drives on multiple days was not a problem for me. I liked it. But, things have changed over the years.

Now, the destination is more important than the journey. Poo on the old adage “It’s not the destination, but it’s the journey.” I love that philosophy as long as I’m not having to drive a car.

Wait! Rewind! If the journey is through beautiful country, I’m game. But, if it is through desolate, boring and extremely HOT arid terrain, I’m open for other options.

This trip is to see our son and daughter-in-law. So, the destination is well worth the process of getting there. Behind the wheel we set out on our journey.

First, we need to safely escape the Bay Area. Congested traffic through the busy freeway of the Southern Peninsula are our first challenge. We make it through unscathed.

But, before the day wears on too long, I call for our on-board attendant. She fixes me a custom beverage: Dr. Pepper in a cool bottle to quench my thirst.

Next, there are the honey-roasted nuts to munch on while washing them down with my specialized soft drink. These nuts are yummy. Whoever came up with the recipe of honey roasted nuts hit on a winner.

Then, it was time to try a new selection. Jerky is not new to us. But, the pepper blend is too spicy for me. Teryaki is our prefered blend.

In the past we have tried beef and turkey. Both are fine. They keep your jaws churning and that keeps your mind off the mundane part of driving.

Now, the tricks are starting to wane. The terrain is becoming barren, boring, redundant and tiring. Turn up the radio, turn up the AC and start singing every song that I know. God, “Are we there yet?”

photo credit: google image