It is odd but one of the most common additives to Chinese cooking is my least favorite food.  Too be quite frank, I can’t stand the flavor of that common root.  The odor is just as big a turn off to me.  My Chinese culture clashes with this uncommon preference.  

Those who prepare cuisine from the East raise their eyebrows.  It is ginger root.  Since the earliest years of my memory I never liked it.  Whether it is sliced, diced or minced, I do not like it. 

Who can explain individual tastes?  Most of us have a few unique preferences.  There is no rhyme or reason, just clear personality biases.

I was a guest at an amazing dinner.  No one asked me what my preferences were.  There was no reason.

Dinner was served.  My plate was covered with a curry dish over rice.  Usually, a curry gravy is delicious over rice.

This time, however, my nose warned me that danger was lurking.  I could see the bits of ginger root scattered in the dish.  No one was paying attention.

Instead, of wasting the food I took a bite, chewed it as little as possible.  Then, I swallowed.  Ginger is full of its flavor, especially when it is crushed from biting.

I shivered.  There was a lot more food still on my plate.  My strategy was based on politeness.  I would do it again.  Of course my hosts offered to get me seconds.  Quickly, I raised my hand in comical protest. 

There was enough food left on my plate to do the man-stir.  When a man doesn’t want to finish his supper, he spreads the food around his plate.  It looks like most of it has been eaten and only a few left-overs are still on the dish.

My generous hosts comment, “Wow, it looks like you really enjoyed the dinner.  Let me give you a good helping of seconds.”
“No, please,” I laugh, “I am done.  Thanks!”
“It’s no problem,” they assure me, “we love it when our guests come with a healthy appetite.”
“Really,” I assure them, “I’ll just enjoy your company.”

With that I quietly suck a few pieces of ginger root out from between my teeth.  Skillfully from years of experience, I avoid the naturally tendency to chew or bite the particles that would certainly release more of that distinctive taste.  “Ginger?  I am not a fan.

photo credit: google image